Retail Therapy

Morning all.

Yesterday, I happened to go shopping only to fall in love with a simple red tunic dress with cut-out shoulders in Warehouse. FullSizeRender (4)

Now, it was one of those items of clothing you look at on the hanger and think ‘Oh, dear lord, no. Just no.’ But for one reason or another I chose to ignore the sceptical voice in my head and tried it on anyway.

Hence, how I came to be its proud owner. Reduced from £30 to £10, I couldn’t have found a better bargain if I’d tried.
IMG_1929 IMG_1930

And it’s such a ‘me’ dress. Seriously, it makes me feel like Cinderella, if not a slightly more modern and upmarket version, with the floaty sleeves and ribbon-tie waist.

Anyway, I put it on and decided that it’s perfect for achieving a glowing summer Latino-inspired look.

I mean, I recently watched the film ‘Endless Love’ with the very gorgeous, swoon-worthy Alex Pettyfer and stunning actress Gabriella Wilde (who I absolutely want to be. Sometimes, life is so unfair…) and was inspired by her hair in the movie.

It’s beautiful. She’s beautiful. IT’S NOT FAIR.

Side note: ‘Endless Love’ is a fabulous rom-com by the way, and NOT predictable by any means, unlike most… You should very definitely go and watch it.)

So I attempted to recreate it by plaiting two sections of hair and curling the rest.

TA-DAAAA…

FullSizeRender[2] (3)

As for makeup, I went for a natural bronzed base with gold and brown shaded eyes and red lips, to match the dress.

PicCollage

Bare Minerals has literally saved my skin. Since changing from my usual liquid foundation and venturing into the world of powdered creations, I’ve had a much clearer complexion. I know it’s more on the expensive side, but I have to say it’s worth it. Also, Kate Moss lipsticks give a beautiful matte finish. However, I would say that they are not the best for retaining moisture, and my lips do usually dry out if I wear it all day without putting lip-gloss of some description over the top (which kind of defeats the point of the matte finish, but you know…)

I feel the finished look works well for a smart-casual summer night out, and shall be testing it on the boyfriend ASAP 😉
FullSizeRender[1] (2)
FullSizeRender[1] (3)FullSizeRender (3)

Hope you like it, and I wish you all a very happy day of shopping and bargains!!

Frosty xxx

8 comments

Leave a Reply

