Monday Adventures

Those who know me will tell you that I am a huge fan of photography. Taking pictures is an outlet for my creative energy, when I’m not writing or drawing, and I love nothing more than spending my time exploring Natural Trust sites and other beautiful places where I can give my trusty Panasonic Lumix a work out.

Today’s stop was the stunning 18th Century country house, Himley Hall, a couple of miles from where I live, in rural Staffordshire. The house itself is surrounded by acres of land and a beautiful lake, both of which beg to be photographed. Hence why I spent a good couple of hours snapping away in the sun this afternoon.

P1050156So let’s begin.

Each photograph was taken at a different point around the lake, and the selective few I’ve uploaded to the blog hopefully capture the beauty of the parkland and all of its equally beautiful inhabitants.

P1050107

This stunning pathway leads through the centre of the park and looks like something out of a fairy tale. There was no one about, which surprised me, but I’m not complaining because I managed to get some great people-free shots which doesn’t usually happen in the summer.

P1050126Beautiful colours and a beautiful back-drop. There was something so peaceful about these flowers that I just had to photograph them.

FullSizeRender (1)I love the salmon pink sky in this shot, and the almost symmetrical reflections. This is probably my favourite spot around the lake, just because the views are so breath-taking.

FullSizeRender[3]I stumbled across a whole swarm of ducks (yes, I’m aware that isn’t actually a technical term. It’s just a good word to describe how the lot of them were swarming across the lake in one big huddle) on the one side of the lake, and as there’s never normally this many all together at once, it was really lovely to photograph.

FullSizeRender (2)

Another gorgeous silhouette shot across the lake. The ripples in the water and the pastel sky really make me love this picture.

FullSizeRenderI managed to get this close to the king of the lake, and there’s no other word for this creature than majestic.

FullSizeRender[2] (2)Probably my favourite shot of the bunch, because of the stunning reflection and the way the sky and the water match so perfectly that if there weren’t trees in the way, you’d think they were conjoined.

P1050094The way home saw me stop off in this cornfield to take a couple of pictures, because I love how vibrant everything looks.

So there you have it: my Monday Adventure complete.

I hope you like the pictures!

Frosty xxx

4 comments

Leave a Reply

